• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

.62 Underhammer Smoothbore Project

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gmww

70 Cal.
Reaction score
In my quest to learn more about gun building as a relative Newbie I purchased yet another Underhammer. This time it was not in a complete kit form. Thanks to FW who had an H&A Underhammer frame, trigger, hammer, and spring I obtained the hardest parts. He alerted me a month or two ago that he had a line on a couple of .62 cal. smoothbores. I was able to order one with the frame through him.

Since he was having them made, I asked that he have the rear sight dove tail be moved back for my eye sight. I happen to like longer plain on my gun sights. My eye sight seems to like it better. It was moved so it would be a couple of inches in front of the breach.

393135.JPG

So I have basically all the parts. The front stock and rear stock which I just got in the mail are from Numrich Arms. Problem with Numrich Arms is the rear stock and stock screw are for an older version. :cursing: Some modifications will need to be done. The Stock screw is going back as it is the wrong length and thread size.

Other issues that will need to be addressed is the nipple hole is a smidge too far forward. As a result the hammer does not strike it properly. The frame has some tooling marks that will also need to be addressed.

The barrel does not seat completely against the frame. It is a couple of thousands forward. This will be dealt with with the nipple hole issue.
393136.JPG