• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Advice on gun to start with . . .

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bigbadben

40 Cal.
Reaction score
So, bear with me as this will be kind of one of those "I'm new to this and looking for advice" posts.

I've shot and hunted for years. A while back I bought a TC Black Diamond in-line just to have something to hunt the MZ season with. But I've never really liked the thing. It's smelly, a pain to clean, and has never shot very well. And add to that the bizzare historical irony that is the in-line and it's just never a gun I've had any enthusiasm for.

But I'm looking for a new winter project, and have always thought I would get into traditional muzzleloading at some point. My questions are threefold: first, I want to shoot a truely traditional gun. So things like the T/C Hawken's don't really appeal to me as they have the modern sights. I want to shoot something with a patched ball. And I would kind of rather it be a flintlock, though I have concerns that I might be asking for trouble. I want to hunt with it, and the MZ season here in VT is in December -so it's always snowy and wet. But in general I really want a gun that looks and feels just like something a guy would have carried 150+ years ago. (Then I want to kill a deer with it.)

So I guess my first two questions are whether it's unwise to start with a flintlock, and who makes a good 1/66 rifle to start with.