• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Big bear country

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zip

40 Cal.
Reaction score
Does anyone here regularly muzzleloader hunt in big bear -- grizzly, polar, brown, kodiak, etc. --country? For that matter, does anyone here specifically hunt big, aggressive bears with a flint or caplock? What do you use and have you ever needed extra patches to wipe up after yourselves? :rotf:

I've been hunting Kodiak country for 35 years, the last 10 deer and such with muzzleloaders. The first 20 years I was here I used a Muzzleloading SxS 12 for ducks, geese, ptarmigan and snowshoe hare, but quit when steel shot came along.

We live an hour out of town and actually get Kodiak's in our yard now and then. You expect to see them every time you go out in the hills and are surprised if you don't.

My preferred bores tend to run a little larger than most guys, but in truth that's whistling past a cemetery. The biggest way to stay out of bear trouble is to use your brain rather than your trigger finger.