• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Can the LOP be increased ?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wizard71

36 Cal.
Reaction score
I've been working on an underhammer for a few months now and have run into another little problem. This is the first time building a gun. So, please be nice.

Here's my problem.
I'm trying to put on a brass butt plate. I thought I'd save a little time and use a band saw to cut the curve of the plate. Well, I seem to have cut off a little too much wood, about an inch to much. :redface: Now the LOP is a little to short, about 13 inch it should be close to 14.
Is it possible to glue a 3/4 inch piece of wood on and reshape the stock? I know the wood wouldn't match, but I have a small piece of walnut and I thought the contrast with the maple might look interesting :hmm: or should I forget about the brass buttt plate and just add a modern recoil pad or just learn to live with a very short LOP.

Would you be able to be satisfied with a 13 inch LOP? It might not be all that undesirable with an underhammer if the barrel was long and heavy or if you wanted to keep your front hand farther away from the nipple. Maybe 13 inches plus a thicker buttplate would suffice. Do you think that you'd prefer curved or straight on this rifle when it's mounted to your shoulder?
Have you considered using bolts to secure any extension in addition to, or as a substitution for glue?