• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Cap lock ignition

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

akummel

Pilgrim
Reaction score
I'm new to cap lock rifles. After about six shots I get no ignition. I clean with wet and dry patches after each shot. I end up pulling the charge, removing the barrel on my T/C Hawken, and pouring water down the barrel until it comes out the nipple then dry it. What am I doing wrong? Have never had any problems over the years with my flintlock rifles. Thanks.

What type of rifle is it? Remove the nipple from the barrel before you start your cleaning process. After you have cleaned the barrel and got it dry, get some pipe cleaners and use them to clean out the nipple and inside the drum area all the way into the barrel.
When you load the powder, turn the barrel a little toward the drum and slapthe barrel a few times to get powder close to the drum and nipple.
I use CCI # 11 caps.
Sounds like you may be getting crud build up at the drum area, affecting the flame from the nippple.
Hope this helps.

Sounds like the bolster (drum) has left-over moisture from the wet patches. After so many patches, there is so much moisture that the poowder is too wet to ignite. Your cleaning patches may be too wet and the left over moisture contaminates the powder. What do you use on your patches and why clean so often.