• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Double Trigger questions

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NCrebel2533

32 Cal.
Reaction score
ok i am a newbie to BP and dont really understand the double trigger system. i like the single trigger look but i want to know which one is better.

Better??? Guess it depends on the use you have in mind.

The double trigger allows one to have a "hunting" trigger and a "target" trigger on the same gun. Hunting being you cock the hammer and the front trigger is now active at the "normal" pull, pull the rear trigger and the front trigger is now set as light as you like for "target" work. I once set mine so that all I need do was bump the stock lightly to fire when I was testing to see just how lightly I could "safely" set it. There are single set triggers out there and I can not explain how they work in any fashion as I have never touched one.

so is it necessary to pull the rear trigger to fire the rifle or can i just pull the first trigger?

All the ones I have all you have do is pull the the cock all the way back and pull the front trigger if you are hunting. If you are target shooting then you pull the cock all the way back, pull the rear trigger to set the front trigger for a more sensitive release. Between the triggers is a set screw that the more you screw in the more sensitive the front trigger gets.

If your gun is a commercially made gun you do not have to "set" the rear trigger to fire the gun.