• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Finally Got One!

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brew

40 Cal.
Reaction score
Opening morning of the Vt. regular season came and went and "man did I have a good time"!

I have been hunting exclusively with my smoke pole for the past 8 years and although I had never taken a deer, it has always been more about the hunt than the kill.
In fact I have taken quite a ribbing from my center fire buddies over the past 8 years for passing up deer because they were out beyond 50 yards, or in one case, for forgetting to put a charge in my barrel as I blasted 9 caps at a beautiful 8 pointer without any ignition. Regardless of how you measure success I have always enjoyed myself and have never put much emphasis on the actual kill.

As for this season, once again I grabbed my 50 Cal Hawken yet things were to be different as I had what turned out to be the best hunt of my life.