• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

First post here fellas

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bfnc2003

Pilgrim
Reaction score
First post here fellas.

Id like to offer my opinion on the subject.
A little history behind myself and how I stumbled across this site. Ive been communicating back and forth for a few years with Roundball on a local deer forum here in NC. Out of curiosty for traditional muzzleloaders Id rag the guy with questions and ask for advice. Id only hunted with inlines previously and had no desire to get into traditional hunting. It wasnt long until I realized, the inline I was hunting with was just as capable (in the areas I hunt) of killing a deer at the same ranges as my rifle. After taking many deer with these guns, I began to feel like the "challenge" of the hunt wasnt there. (As I feel when toting my .270)....I picked up bowhunting lastyear as an added "challenge" for me in my hunting career. Got lucky and connected with my first deer by bow this year. Id been reading different forums and speaking with different people the last year or so about wanting to get into traditional muzzleloading. Just so happened, by luck, I was given a T/C .50 Hawken early this week by dads fiance' who has had this gun since her father died. I emailed back and forth with roundball who got me a list of all I needed to start off with this gun. All I can say about the first time pulling the trigger on this gun is WOW! :bow: I had found shooting to be FUN again! With no scope I actually