• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Flintlock Fox

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Robert Egler

50 Cal.
Reaction score
Got a fox!

I'm not very good at fox hunting :redface: , so that's not actually a common occurance, despite effort.

Flintlock, 54 smoothbore, 3/4 oz BB shot in paper shot cup, 2 overpowder wads, 60g FFg, at about 10 yards. (That's lead BB shot, not steel BBs)

When I shot him he just stood there looking at me, seemingly completely unharmed, for about 2 seconds, and I'm thinking "how the heck can I miss from 10 yards!", then he fell over dead.

:grin: :grin:

fox Jan 2009.jpg

my fox2.jpg

Thanks! It was just after dawn, I didn't get around to taking pictures until later.

Yep, drying the pelt now!

Nice. :thumbsup: I don't know what I'm more jealous of, the fox or the open, snowless woods. We have so much snow up here now that even snowshoeing is difficult.

Nice job :thumbsup: :hatsoff: . Them lil buggers are sneaky.
Thought for a second the other day maybe I was gonna get one. I was out tryin to wack a coyote and was playin around with one of those lil mouse squeeker thingys. Saw some movement, and it was a fox checkin me out. He hung around for about 10 sec, and dissapeared without giving me a shot. It was the first and only fox I`ve ever called in. Got me to wonderin though how many others have sneaked in to check me out and dissapeared without me knowin.
Congrates again. That fellers gonna make a pretty hide. :hatsoff: