• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

GM install on TC Renegade Fitting Issue

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mlhunter

36 Cal.
Reaction score
I'm a newbie here on the forum but have been inline muzzleloading since 1998. However, I have always had an interest in the older ways and I am in the process of joining a traditional muzzleloading club to work with them, attend their regular shoots, and maybe some regional shoots.

I had a TC Renegade and I had Track of the Wolf assemble a TC breech plug from The Gun Works to a Green Mountain 54 caliber round ball barrel that I purchased some time ago from Midway. I have draw filed the breech plug to meld with the barrel so that part is done.

HOWEVER, when I went to install the barrel the new breech plug will insert all the way into the tang but the barrel will not drop down all the way into the barrel channel. There appears to be clearance externally so the problem must be the fit of the breech plug insert into the tang opening.

It looks to me the issue is either the bottom of the insert at the breech plug or the top of the insert away from the breech plug. Is there a good way to approach this filing work? Would it help if I removed the tang and eyeball that is going on?

Any help on this would be appreciated!

Since I am going to be more involved in traditional muzzleloading I plan on spending more time on this forum. I have a lot to learn yet!

mlhunter said: