• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Goex Powder

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
How many have bought Goex since it came back on the market? I personally don't need any at the moment since I still have a stash old Goex and Swiss powder to boot. Is it the same as it used to be, better, worse?

I bought five pounds of the new goex when my club took orders. I've been shooting Scheutzen for about ten years now. I haven't done any really close comparisons but the little I've done it seems very comparable. I think the nature of fouling has a lot to do with the lube used.

Wow. Every guy with a different experience by brand. I guess a lot goes into how much powder loaded with what projectile and patch etc. All those variables coming into play from guy to guy and gun to gun. ? ?

I have shot Goex since the early-90s and only in the last couple years tried Schutzen and found it to not only smell more 'sulpher-y' but to be more dirty than Goex. That is in my Renegades, Senecas and Cherokee. However, I do seem to get higher muzzle velocity per my chrono with Schutzen and in the .32 it is grouping better (20 grains 3F).

I have only recently started down the Swiss road and have a couple pounds in 2F and 3F to play with.

I won a pound of schutzen couldn't even finish a woods walk it . Fouled my rifle up so bad.
WANO is Schutzen powder as is Swiss same manufacturer. They might have been making powder since the 1600s but it'd be the last thing I ever shoot again.