• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Greetings from Dunwoody, Georgia...

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hello:
I'm brand new to the "Muzzleloading Forum". It looks like a great place to 'lurk & learn' all of the things I ever wanted to know about muzzleloading, but have been afraid to ask...

I shoot a .54 round ball-percussion, Pennsylvania model, "York Rifle" that I had made with a 42" barrel. The good news is that with a 1/66 twist it shoots very well using a 230 grain ball and 90 grains of Pyrodex. - The bad news is that cleaning the long barrel is a real chore, and I am a nut about keeping a clean bore. Any neat ideas about rapid and effective cleaning would be appreciated..

-----BigBird
.Benefactor, NRA.
.Life, Safari Club Intl.
.NRA, Cert. Rifle Inst.
.River Bend Gun Club.
.Pistol/Rifle "plinker".

The bad news is that cleaning the long barrel is a real chore, and I am a nut about keeping a clean bore. Any neat ideas about rapid and effective cleaning would be appreciated..

as long as it takes to clean properly.....
welcome to our camp....don't be afraid to ask anything we have a great bunch of guys and gals here to help out............bob

Welcome to the forum...

If you think cleaning Pyrodex is messy, try it with real black powder sometime...

Actually, cleaning the bore is like icing on a cake, it's part of the lore and charm of muzzleloading, it compliments the hands-on experience that makes shooting muzzleloaders a part of our rich heritage...