• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

hand cast ball accuracy?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tnlonghunter

40 Cal.
Reaction score
I've got to order stuff from TOTW so I figure I'll just order RB's at the same time. I've always shot Hornady swagged balls, but I figured I might try the hand-cast ones since they're a little cheaper. I don't cast my own, so I have no experience shooting them. Is there any reason to believe the swagged are more accurate than the hand cast, and therefore worth the extra money?

I got a 1000 hand cast balls from Eddie May and did notice they did have a different point of impact, had to adjust my sights for a height up & down but not much. He's the man for balls for sure.

Eddie May
159 Ridley Road
Chatsworth, GA 30705
706-581-8225

1000 balls to your front door for $81 bucks

I cast for both my .40 and .54 with a Rapine bag mold, I can't tell any difference...

If a hand cast ball is less round than a swaged then by the time you shoot it out of the barrel and it oblates then it has conformed to the barrel wall...With open sights, I don't believe you will be able to tell a difference in group size...

I never noticed a difference! I get one on the paper once in a while, regardless of which one I'm using

I started shooting my hand cast balls last week. They shot great, im useing a lee 2 cavity .490 mold, but the balls are mic. .495. Great accuracy in my lyman gpr flinter.