• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

head shot

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

evan

32 Cal.
Reaction score
Question please: At 61-years old I'm new to muzzleloading and hunting (This will be my third year at both)
So the Question is,
When it comes to deer why is a head shot not a good way to go if your shot is 50-yards or under?? People talk about head shots on pig, never on deer? What would be the absolute best placement shot between 50-75 yards to drop a deer in it's tracts. Thanks

Evan,
I would say a heart/lung shot would be the ideal shot placement at about any distance that
you can make the shot. My thinking on the head
shot is it would definately drop a dear if the
shot were made, but in the case of a buck might
damage a nice rack. In the case of either, a buck
or doe, the head of both have a lot more
movement than the body and just makes for a more
diffacult shot. I'm sure you will get other
opinions. The above is mine.
snake-eyes :hmm:

I think you'll find it amazing how small their heads actually are..! goin w/ snake eyes, heart lung best shot...besides,imagine shooting a tad low....breaking the jaw, deer runs off and starves to[url] death..ain[/url]'t pretty, just my opinion RC

Last edited by a moderator: