• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

How'd everyone do this year?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Roguedog

45 Cal.
Reaction score
First, let me say that any season spent in the deer woods, is a success and a joy, even if you kill something or not. This year has been a particular joy for me. Not that I killed that many deer. To date, I have only killed a single doe. However, this is my first year in which I have totally said goodbye to centerfire rifles and have dedicated myself solely to using muzzleloading weapons, for everything! That said, I had some encounters this season with some very big bucks. I missed a couple of nice bucks (no wounds, thank God), passed on several shots, and overall the experiences from this season have taught me to take my game to another level. I have often felt that I learn more from my mistakes than I do from my successes. I have learned that I need to shoot more, practice more and generally I think deciding to use only muzzleloading weapons has definitely made me a better hunter.

Having said all that, how was your year? Did you guys and gals accomplish your goals? How many deer did you get? Did you get to take some kids hunting? Just let us know a little bit about your season. Thanks!

Jeff

Did not go out a single day. The forest service has cut out the use of ATVs. :cursing:
Dragging my deer out last year nearly ruint me. At age 74 I'm not interested in dropping dead in the woods from cardiac arrest. My deer hunting days may be over with.