• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Hunt with clean or fouled barrel?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hawken-Hunter

32 Cal.
Reaction score
At the range I've noticed my first shot is usually 5" off center, but the rest of my shots are are centered on the bulls-eye. So I assume a single fouling shot is best for hunting, but how long can I wait before I have to clean the fouled barrel. Also, won't the fouling shot scare off my prey? I am new to hunting. Thanks for your advice.

Two comments:
1) I never hunt with a dirty muzzleloader;
2) I always sight in for the first shot out of a clean cold barrel...that's usually the only shot we get to take.

And also IMO, something doesn't seem right for you to be experiencing that huge of a difference between a clean and fouled barrel.
What are the specifics of what you're using...barrel, caliber, powder, patch, ball ??

jus had a gun that shot EXtremey Low on first shot...an first only..worked with it till found jus using a heavier patch on first shot fixed it,,next shots w/ reg load were right on..(I'm not gonna hunt with fouled gun..) :thumbsup:

Hawken-Hunter said:
At the range I've noticed my first shot is usually 5" off center, but the rest of my shots are are centered on the bulls-eye. So I assume a single fouling shot is best for hunting, but how long can I wait before I have to clean the fouled barrel. Also, won't the fouling shot scare off my prey? I am new to hunting. Thanks for your advice.

Change patch lubes for starters.