• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Inletting swamped barrel

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Slim36

32 Cal.
Reaction score
I recently joined up in Dec. and have spent numerous enjoyable hours reading past posts. I am new to muzzleloading and am wanting to build a Penn. style rifle in .54 cal. Have many yrs of custom cabinet and furniture building under my belt and a small shop, also some minor machinist skills from farming as well. Wanting to buy parts and stock blank but a bit overwhelmed if I could handle the swamped barrel inletting. Thoughts and advice appreciated.

Welcome, I am no expert but a strait barrel would be alot easier for a first build. I did just learn that you can have the barrel profile and ramrod cut for you and you get a very good fit. Just a thought if you really want the swamped barrel. I have not built one but can see how hard it would be to layout and inlet one.

You will get more answers if the moderators move this to the "gun builders bench" sub forum. That said, a friend is a custom builder & he makes no distinction between a swamped, tapered or straight barrel - he inlets all of them by hand, using flexible metal guides that he screws down on the stock blank, with the spacing matching the barrel profile. This system is more time consuming than using power tools but he achieves extraordinary wood to metal fit. Some using standard barrel profiles will send their stock off to have the barrel inletting done by computerized equipment.