• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Interest in Engraving Tutorial?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

engravertom

40 Cal.
Reaction score
Hi folks,

There has been some interest in engraving here in the time I have been visiting this forum. I am hot and cold about checking in, but I want to help out as I am able.

Is there interest in an engraving tutorial? I want to offer one, but it would help to know what folks are looking to learn about.

I'm not an expert on period styles of engraving, but I can learn. My strengths are knowing how to sharpen and cut, and lettering, as well as post 1850 designs. I am a full time engraver, the in house guy for Turnbull MFG.,and have been at it since late 1993.

I'm thinking about teaching some basic sharpening, basic cuts, and simple leaf forms, with shading. i would be happy to teach some principles of lettering also.

There are only two things I would ask of the participants; keep asking questions, and be patient with my sometimes erratic schedule.

I'll be checking this thread out to see if there is any interest, and what you all might want help with.

I'm not too uptight a person,( sometimes!) so anyone who wants to participate, or chime in with advice would be welcome.

I use modern tools at work, but am moving back to a simpler tool kit for my own work, so I will try to help beginners get going with as minimal a cash outlay as possible.

take care,

Tom