• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Irish shot snake head

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sootmonkey

32 Cal.
Reaction score
Hey Guys. I am new to black powder shooting, as my question here will prove.
I just bought a shot snake from TOTW. It came with an Irish head. I think it may be broken.
I can remove the shot measure, but I can not figure out how to release the shot from the snake. Pushing on the button(that in my case does not move) will only close the already closed gate. How do you open the gate to release the shot? What am I doing wrong? Can you explain how this is supposed to work? Thank you.

It's made to use with the head below the bag.
While you are carrying it the measure has pushed the gate out of the way allowing shot to fill the measure. When you withdraw the measure the gate closes preventing shot from falling out of the bag.

Yep. Gravity fills it every time you replace it when you hang it below the snake.

HPIM0792.jpg

Yup, gravity pulls the shot into the measure. The next question is how to get the shot into the snake. Now that we know that the measure opens the gate, you should see what moves to open the snake to add shot. Fill it with the suitable sized shot and send some down range.

Grenadier1758 said:
The next question is how to get the shot into the snake. Now that we know that the measure opens the gate, you should see what moves to open the snake to add shot. Fill it with the suitable sized shot and send some down range.