• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

just now getting back into traditional muzzleloading, advice

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Howie1968

40 Cal.
Reaction score
Hello all, Not a total newbie to traditional muzzleloading but its been 30 years. ive spent the last 30 years bowhunting only and was a hunting guide. now its my time. i mainly hunt big hogs (ill post a picture or to for refernce) deer and i do go elk hunting every year. At the moment i do not have a traditional black powder rifle but will be buying one soon. i really want a .54 caliber. for what i do i like big heavy bullets however would like to use patched round balls for deer and thin skinned game. my ideal gun is a thompson center renegade in .54 or a hawken in .54 however lyaman has a .54 in a trade rifle and a deerstalker in .54. im tempted on the lyman because the shorter barrel less weight. i hunt extremeley thick areas East Texas has some serious thickets. a shorter gun would be perfect. i totally understand the limitations of black powder and acceptable hunting ranges. ive killed 84 deer wityh archery equipment and in 30 years of bowhunting have only shot 3 times past 25 yards. with that being said i will limit my shots to 60 or so yards. i feel confident using a trad muzzleloader at that range. i have all the necessities powder flask capper etc. i understand ill have to work a load up my main objective will be accuracy. my main question is has anyone killed big hogs with patched roundballs? when i was younger