• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Modifications to Kentucky

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Smithen

32 Cal.
Reaction score
hello everyone, I'm new to the forum so I thought I would introduce myself and ask a quick question. My name is Tyler, hope to get to meet y'all in time. Anyway im brand new to BP rifles, over the summer I bought a Traditions Kentucky Longrifle kit and me and my father put it together. Now its nothing much at all but I am now addicted and love these guns and the history behind them. My question is if many of you have this gun, and if so what are some modification that you have done to the gun? I have seen some people engraving their stocks or putting enlays in them. One idea I had was trying to put a small spyglass on like a scope, I doubt it would work but I think it would be interesting.

Thanks,
Tyler

A lot of people got their start with these and the older CVA Kentuckies. During the eighties I put together a lot of these kits for people who got them for birthdays or Christmas and didn't have a clue where to start. A lot of people have put different inlays on the rifles. Some look nice others not so good. They do have one thing in common. No matter what you do to the rifle, it is not going to enhance the value of the rifle. Keeping that in mind do what you think is right.