• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

NEED C&B DANGEROUS GAME BACKUP!

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

user 7142

32 Cal.
Reaction score
I am new to Cap and Ball and was wanting any information on dangerous game backup guns. This means bear and other ugly things of the like. I read the ROA .50 and .58 post. Those seem like they fit the bill good but I really want to know my options before dropping $1500. :hatsoff:

A big-bore single shot would be good, my .50 CVA Hawken sure packs a wallop, a slug in there would be hard-hitting. With quik-load tubes you can get a couple shots off fairly fast.

The Walker Dragoon pistol was our most powerful pistol until the development of the 357 magnum. That Walker has a much longer cylinder than the Second and Third Dragoons and you can cram a ton of powder in it, plus the multiple shots.

Mr Crockett is quite right,the walker has quite a bit of poke for a revolver.The problem w/ the walker is the loading lever drops b/c of the recoil,effectively locking up the cylinder.not good in a dangerous sitch.I would submit a 1st,2nd or 3rd model dragoon.I has very similar ballistics but a superior lock mechenism for the load lever.If I were going after bear, I don't know that a blackpowder revolver would be my first choice as a backup weapon.Best regards,J.A.