• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Adam Lee

32 Cal.
Reaction score
Hello, everyone. I'm brand new and just wanted to introduce myself. I am a 3rd grade teacher, I have a huge interest in American, world, and military history; and I don't own a single muzzleloader - yet!

My primary interests in guns is centerfire and rimfire; but with a continuing bit of geneological research into my family past I have grown very interested in researching, shooting, maybe even building muzzle loading guns.

FWIW, my ggg(?) grandfather was Corp Richard Stevens, 9th VA Cavalry, Stafford Rangers, A Co. One thing I've been really thinking about getting ahold of would be a short carbine-or 2-band '53 Enfield or Springfield pattern musket.

The revolutionary war relatives that dad has researched I don't know as much about...I really need to chat with dad about that.

Well, it certainly looks like a wealth of knowledge and interesting ideas floating around in here!

Greetings Adam,

Always good to have another teacher in camp.

Hope you are able to find a ML to your liking. The whole history of the ML lends itself well to many lessons. :hatsoff:

Welcome Adam. You certainly have a lot of history behind you. Wonderful that you can still ask your dad about things; wish I could still talk to mine. There are a lot of questions that will remain unanswered. Emery