• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

New to black powder shooting

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CoGlenn24

Pilgrim
Reaction score
Howdy all, I am a college student at Texas A&M looking to get into muzzleloading and black powder shooting. I’ve got some solid experience with shooting sports and looking to take the next step into some historical firearms.

Any advice or tips on getting in to muzzleloading and historical firearms is welcome!

I’m a new convert too…but much past college age. Get what you like but remember that there are many “extras” that come with muzzle loaders. It’s not like picking up a new gun and a box of cartridges and you are good to go. That was probably my biggest lesson and you will probably end up spending more than you thought you would but personally …I’m hooked!

Welcome and enjoy.

Welcome from the Northeast!

Here’s what I’d do … what era (when) appeals to YOU the most???? And possibly add where you are (North, South, west, etc.), and then pick a suitable arm from there, e.g.,

Late 1600s/early 1700s - Matchlock or doglock, depends ‘where’ your persona is

French & Indian War - French fusil de chasse 62-cal musket

Colonial days - Early, militia musket. Late, early Colonial rifle

Lewis & Clarke era - 1803 Harper’s Ferry flint rifle

Longhunter - Trade musket or rifle

Jerimiah Johnson/fur trade - Flint to percussion Hawken

… this is NOT an exact list, nor is it meant to be, but just to give you some ideas!