• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Need feedback from all you savages out there that would probably prefer to scalp your neighbor's barking dog versus asking the owner to shut it up. I have just acquired some land that I will be hunting blackpowder on. I am new to BP and I am thinking about a Traditions Tennessee Rifle .50 cal percussion. Is this an ok gun to start with, what kind of groups can I expect at 50 or 100 yards. I guess I will be cleaning it with windex after every shooting session???!!!

What else do I need? Where is there a quick guide on the web I can check? I supposed I'll have to measure the amount of powder that I use to make sure I do not blow my face off huh?

Hammerfall Traditions makes a pretty decent midrange priced gun I own one very accurate. start out with 50 gr 2f blk pwd or pyrodex [you'll probably get better results with blk pwd] go up in grains of powder till your satisfied with accuracy i suggest .015 to .018 pillow ticking for patch mat and .490 rb don't be afeerd to experiment with diff patches different lubes etc you'll find one that shoots center good luck and welcome
weasel

Hammerfall: It sounds like you are already reading the stuff on this forum. I think after you have read most of the Posts here you will have a good idea of how to take care of your rifle.

To answer your question about measuring the powder: YES you will need a measure. I would suggest one which is adjustable with a range of 50 to 100 grains.