• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Percussion Jaeger? How common?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JohnTheGreek

36 Cal.
Reaction score
Also curious if someone can tell me the relative frequency of Iron vs. Brass Furniture on a Jaeger.

Thanks,

Buffler Runner

I am no expert but here's what I've learned through some research. I've seen photos of plenty of jaegers with either brass or iron furniture. From what I've read the military type jaegers had brass furniture almost exclusively. Now about the percussion jaegers. I'm sure that some were built as percussions but it's been written that the Napoleanic wars (pre-percussion era) pretty much saw an end to the "golden age" of jaeger rifle building going on in Germany. Many originals were converted to percussion and I think they look very good and would not be considered too uncommon. The Germans were always big on technological advances. The German military has always had Jaeger units carrying short rifles even up to WWII so you have to draw a line about what you consider to be a "Jaeger rifle" One true statement about jaeger type guns is that almost anything goes within reason. But don't take my word for it, researching is half the fun. Always glad to hear of someone interested in jaegers :hatsoff: