• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Pistol Cleaning

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

doc tc

Pilgrim
Reaction score
I have been shooting a '58 Remington for about six months now, having moved away from mostly centerfire rifle and I gotta' say I've never enjoyed shooting more.

I've always been fastidious in the cleaning of my weapons; they never sit uncleaned.

and so it with this revolver. I take the thing apart, all the way apart, every time I finish shooting it and wash it thoroughly with hot detergent water, bore brush it, toothbrush it and then bake it in the oven at 250 degrees for ten minutes to drive the water out of it (including the springs, screws and nipples). then I re-lube everything (while its still damn hot to the touch) and put it all back together.

so it has about a thousand balls through it now and still looks like a brand new gun.

oh yeah, I burn Pyrodex; 35 grain loads under a .457 with Crisco on top. and I use Windex and WD-40 during my shooting sessions to keep things rotating. I've noticed that the Windex browns out the brass trigger guard almost immediately but the brown comes off easily with Brasso when I clean the gun.

there aren't any smoke shooters where I live so you folks' comments on my cleaning method would be appreciated. am I missing anything or doing something wrong the way I am doing it? I really, really like the gun and the whole process and if you folks have any suggestions for me on this cleaning thing I would sure like to read them.