• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Polishing a barrel

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

billholmes

32 Cal.
Reaction score
Afternoon. I am preparing to order an in-the-white Early English Trade Run or Tulle in the next day or two from Sitting Fox. I am a newbie at finishing so I would like some advice at making a polished bright barrel and lock. What kind of material/tools are needed? Difficult or not? I would like some advice from the pros out there. I am wondering if its worth the trouble to do myself and if i should just buy a finished gun. Also, if anyone out there has a .20 ga flintlock for sale, let me know, maybe i will take it off your hands instead. Any thoughts on Sitting Fox guns? I have heard they are extremely well made but I have never seen one personally.
Thanks

The only polishing to bright I do is on modern arms for bluing after I have turned the barrels. For that I use a polishing wheel and jewelers rouge. That would work for the round portion of the barrel, but I'd stay clear of the octagonal section. I bet it would round your flats before you got a high degree of polish. On octagonal barrels you can get a pretty high degree of polish by wrapping emmory around a good sized mill bastard and "draw filing," but I'm not sure if that's as high a polish as you want.

You can get both the wheel and the rouge from Brownells.