• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Preserving fur/hide

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Erik550c

40 Cal.
Reaction score
Hello, I'm a newbie. I have instructions in a book for skinning bucks/game and removing the fur and tanning/stretching, but I do not know how to actually preserve the fur with the hide. I'd rather keep skins with the fur for display then make buckskin. What supplies do I need? If anyone knows of a book that has pictures and step-by-step guides, let me know! Coyotes, bobcat, deer, racoon, etc...

When first skinning the animal, using salt on the hide will draw out the moisture and help preserve it until you get home and can treat it properly with borax, etc.

Sean Gadhar said:
Just a bit more info plz. Are you asking how, or how useing traditional ways?

Brain tanning is fine, but any method... cheapest. .. How do I preserve fur?

Erik550c said:
... cheapest. .. How do I preserve fur?
The cheapest method is to scrape and salt the skins. This will preserve the skins indefinitely (keep from moisture) and retain the hair. The skins will not be soft, but they will be preserved.

Tanning is another matter entirely, and there are many ways this can be accomplished depending on the final product you desire.

Last edited by a moderator:
Cheapest is to brain tan but certainly not the easiest. Rumor has it you can tan with walnuts but never seen it done.