• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

question for Regulis

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Praridog

32 Cal.
Reaction score
On pawnshop finds.
Very nice rifles and great idea,what would be the things to look out for when buying from pawns as far as safety and shootability in the firearms?I am a bit new at this.But i am going to check a couple of pawns in my area.Thanks for any info.

Walk Verrrry soft on pawn guns. Anything in pawn is in that place for a reason, generally not good.

I love to buy from pawn shops and do it often. I always look for deals as far as price and type of gun. I have found that more than once, whenever I get the gun home, there is a stuck bullet in the gun. I usually just buy it with that in mind. It scares some folks and they get rid of it cheaply. But be careful. Some are way overpriced.

I'd bring the following if checking out any used ML: ramrod w/several size jags/patches, some lube/oil for patches, vernier calipers, screwdiver(s), nipple wrench and bore light.

Swab the barrel with wet patch and feel for tight/loose/rough spots. Run a dry patch down the have a look with the bore light. Take the calipers and run them down the lenght of the barrel to check for bulges. Is the barrel crown in good condition? Before patchwork/bore light see how far the ramrod enters the barrel with the jag and compare this to the length of barrel minus the breechplug (e.g. is there a load in there?). I don't like looking down a loaded barrel............