• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Second Ker-Schlack Gets the Deer

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Versanaut

40 Cal
Reaction score
I am relatively new to hunting, having only hunting deer now for the past 6 years. I have only used sidelocked, open sighted front stuffers from day one, much to my modern/scoped rifle family's dismay. There is just something about having to let them get closer and to account for the elements and lighting to make a shot that makes this type of hunting both exciting and a bit nostalgic! I stepped up the game this year in taking my flinter out for the first time. A MUCH different hunt indeed! Any movement of that 42" barrel gets a lot of attention! A herd of 6 doe happened across my right side. Being right handed I had to be patient for them to present better and not have to swing that long barrel around. I let 4 pass before to lessen the chances of being seen. Decided on #4 as the biggest. I startled the last two a bit as I line up but they did not blow or run. Only stomped. She was out at roughly 40ish yards and slightly quartering away. A clear shot, no brush. I lined up on her shoulder, pulled back the hammer. Exhaled and took in a deep breath of the cool morning air and set the trigger. As I exhaled slowed and eased back on the trigger, the early morning silence was broken by a VERY loud Ker-Schlack! No Boom! hahaha. I can't recall what I muttered exactly, but I don't think I was complimentary towards my rifle as I reset the hammer. ALL eyes were