• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Should I use BP if available?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bill-e

32 Cal.
Reaction score
Hi all,

I read through a few long posts on BP alternatives and I still have a couple of questions. It seems most of the reviews I read while looking to purchase an 1858 New Army mentioned that they had either used 777 or Pyrodex so as an uneducated newbie I assumed that these were widely used and accepted propellants. These propellants also advertised easier cleaning so I was interested. Reading through this messageboard it seems that many if not most folks prefer real BP.

For me, cost is not an issue as I'm not going to shoot enough to worry about the difference in price. What is important to me is consistency, corrosion and long term storage as my job has me away most of the time so a pound is going to last me a long time.

So having said that, if I can find BP here locally, is the conventional wisdom to use real BP in my C&B revolver or have I just been reading an emotional debate?

Thanks
Bill

BP is the best. Will last for years, as for the subs shelf life is short. In the search put in Black powder and read some threads on it. There's has been a lot talk. IMO its a no brainer. Pyrodex is OK. You can't beat the real BP. Cleaning is not a problem with BP and less corrosion. Just remember no matter what you use if you don't clean its going rust.