• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

stuck ball 50 cal kentucky

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SWF

32 Cal.
Reaction score
have a problem need some advice. i have been shooting MZ for 30+ years never had a stuck ball.well that ended this week. i managed to get distracted because i was having real problems getting the ball and patch down so i was trying various ways to ease the pressure. i loaded a new patch and ball and sent it down , only to realize that i did not put powder. needless to say i was beside myself

when i got home i tried the ball puller, ramrod screwed into the ball than broke loose, again same thing. i was getting lead out on the screw. i decided to soak the barrel with breakfree overnight. this morning i went back and now i can't seem to find the ball? ramrod goes all the way to the breech. i fired 3 caps with a small patch at the front of the barell and it blew the patch away.
i ran hot wated through the barell into a pot and flushed no problem all the water came out.

question
could the breakfree disolve the lead ball?
could i have pushed the ball into the breech area behing the drum/nipple? and if so where does that leave me.

i will not fire this gun until i am sure it is clean

the gun is a traditions 50 cal kentucky

appreciate any thoughts on this problem.

thank you

I'm a noob but did you stick a bore light into the muzzle and look in? Now that I know what I'm looking at, I can tell when my gun is empty.