• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Sub-Gauge Percussion Shotgun

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BarberSurgeon

32 Cal.
Reaction score
I have recently had an interest in another muzzleloader. I think having a sub-gauge "woods" gun would be a lot of fun. Something that could take rabbit, tree rat, or the occasional quail over pointers. I've never built a gun before, and it looks like if I am to get what I'm thinking about, it will be a build project.

I'd like to have a percussion gun, but truth be told I'm not really interested in the few single barrel shotgun kits I've seen. I'd like this gun to have a bit more modern dimensions, but with classic lines. A 28" barrel in 16 or 20ga with a weight around 5.5-6lbs. I'd also like to have more modern stock dimensions. I really have a hard time hitting much with 3-4" of DAH. Although "modern shotgun stock dimensions" I can adapt to on most any gun, 14.25 lop, 2.5 dah, ~1.5" dac.

I'm not looking for a historically correct gun, so if this is not the place to discuss such things I'll look elsewhere for advice.

I've seen a few BP shotgun barrels listed, but they are much longer than I am looking to have on this gun. With a variable profile, I don't think they are designed to be shortened. Also they seem like they are quite heavy, making it hard to reach my weight goals.

I'm a 16ga fan, and like the idea of this being a 16ga. Easy to load down to 7/8 when needed. Should be fun working out light and standard loads.