• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Western Arms Corp Hawken Rifle

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

45Wheelgun

32 Cal.
Reaction score
Hi, first post from a long time lurker.

I recently purchased this firearm. It is marked "Western Arms Corp" "Santa Fe, N.M." "Jedediah Smith, 1799-1831". "xxx of 1000" It appears to be in excellent condition, I'm not sure if it has been fired, it doesn't show any signs of it to me, but I am far from an expert.

IMG_6775.jpg

IMG_6777.jpg

I am aware that this barrel is .53, even though the barrel is marked .54.

I have done a pretty through internet search on this rifle and have found conflicting information.

I have read these were developed from blue prints of Kit Carson's gun and produced by Adlo Uberti. From this thread here:
http://muzzleloadermag.infopop.cc/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/20610091/m/6171079222

I have also read (See Mr. Phariss's post below) that Uberti made a prototype but in the end the guns were not produced. I have also read that these guns began to be imported in 1976.
http://www.muzzleloadingforum.com/.../post/943465/hl/santa+fe/fromsearch/1/#943465

Dan Phariss said:
From my earlier post on this subject:

Western Arms paid a friend of mine to make a copy of the J&S Hawken in the MT Historical Society collection as a prototype for the making of a good Hawken as opposed to what was then on the market.