• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

What is "jug choking"

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Old Sarge

40 Cal.
Reaction score
What exactly is jug choking? I'm new to BP shotgunning and have a New Englander I just picked up a 12 ga barrel for. It is a cylinder bore. Can it be jug choked to modified and how does this work. Can a PRB be used in a choked bore? Thanks in advance for the expert advice I know I will be getting.

Tom

That's when you squeeze jugs too hard. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

OK, more seriously, it is reshaping the bore near the muzzle over at least a couple inches so that the bore opens up briefly then closes down again. This turns a cylinder bore into a choked gun. It is an art and some folks are very good at it.

"jug choking", is a process of reaming out a barrel at the front The widened out area is about 2 1/2" long.

The idea is that the shot charge expands into the widened area, then is constricted down to the smaller diameter part of the barrel ahead of it, thus providing (or increasing) a choke.

Roundball shoots prb's in his jug choked guns.

Couldnt put it better myself, my 20 gauge barrel does wonders with the choke I have on it. Its midway from full and modified. Will put most of the pellets (90-95%) on a sheet of poster board. Round balls I havent had A chance to shoot with, I had the wrong ball size.610 will let you know once I go to the range and shoot the .600 balls I have.

nw_hunter said:
Roundball shoots prb's in his jug choked guns.