• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Who makes the best roundballs?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mark in WI

32 Cal.
Reaction score
Now that I have everybodys attention. Back when I started shooting BP we either shoot homemade round balls or Speer. I did not like the little bump on the homemade, but did like the price, so I used mostly the Speer. As I am looking to get backto shooting again I only see the Hornady round balls. I think I did see some economy round balls at cabelas or Basspro. I guess I was wondering if the Hornady are similar to the speer. Is seven dollars a good price for a box of the Hornady? Walmart had them and maxihunters for that on clearance.

Thanks for the info,
Mark

You might want to give it a try, every gun will shoot differ.. with round ball--fine out what your gun like to shoot :thumbsup: I shoot H round ball and my gun likes them alot so I go no farhter!! :grin: Good luck!! :thumbsup: and have fun :grin:

The Speer balls are nice and shiny! But I don't think that makes em shoot any different. That's all I used to shoot back in the 70's. Kinda like you, I started up again recently and have been using the Hornady .490 rb. no complaints. $7 is a good price for anything .45 cal or above. I was able to purchase 6 boxes closeout at Dick's sporting goods for $5 each, on my last box now. The sprue on cast balls does not seem to affect accuracy. The guys in my club who are drilling the center out of their targets all cast their own.