• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

wire inlay

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

weasel

40 Cal.
Reaction score
fellers I am an above average machinist but only a fair wood worker I have a rather plain rifle i would like to purty up a smidge i like wire inlays but been told after a few years the wire works up on the ends ::is that true and other than carving tool which i have what else do i need other than the wire
weasel

Check on page129 of "The Art of Building thePennsylvania Longrifle" Works best to buy the ribbon shaped wire than to pound your own round wire flat. The tools you need (little flat chissles and punches) can mostly be made from old hacksaw blades.
Also see "Recreating the American Longrifle" on page 129 too. There is a brief description and pictures of the tools you need.

As Horse Doctor points out there is enough information in
"The Art of Building thePennsylvania Longrifle" pp129-130 to get you going.
Yes, the wire can eventually work it's way back out of the cut it lives in. A little about this later.

You will have no use for a regular chisel as all of the cuts are done by driving homemade pieces of hacksaw blades in perpendicular to the surface of the wood.

To make these tools, cut off a 2 inch long piece of hacksaw blade. I use a high speed hand held grinder to do this but any method that gets you a 2 inch long piece is good enough.