• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Woods walk

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
All day in the woods, totally beat :snore:
Gathered some squirrel in to make a pie with.

I scored a great shot on a jay at speed on the wind, not bad for 5/8oz of shot!

Found a resting hare(brown)so got the camera out.
I was sneaking up on a pheasant at the time which got away whilst I studied the hare.

I had a good day with this 45 smoothrifle and never felt under gunned :thumbsup:

Brits.

Britsmoothy said:
I had a good day with this 45 smoothrifle and never felt under gunned :thumbsup:

That's the ultimate test of a gun, isn't it?

I certainly admire your 45 smoothy. I'm a lifetime user of small bore breechloaders and really respect their capabilities along with the easy carry.

But the difference for me (and it's clear for you as well) is that I also respect and live withing their range limits. :hatsoff:

How do your jays taste? Nice looking bird.

Years ago when I was 12 yrs old I would go by this pond in northern Minnesota and many times a Great Blue Heron would take off. All I had was a single shot Sears and Roebuck .22, but the following year my Dad had bought me a SXS 12 ga. and I again went by the pond and sure enough the heron took off and down it came.

Walked over to it and after looking at the crumpled bird had a pang of remorse....such a beautiful bird when alive and next to nothing when dead.