• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

3F IN A .45 CAL FLINTER

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ghartung

32 Cal.
Reaction score
I'M NEW TO ALL THIS STUFF, I'M I PUTTING MYSELF IN DANGER BY SHOOTING 60-70 GR. OF 3F BLACK POWDER OUT OF MY .45 CAL FLINTER ? THANKS BOWDAWG

The standard response is to make sure you don't exceed manufacturers recommendations. My opinion, that's not a real hevy load at all with a prb.

Goos shooting,

Java Man

I use 50 grains of 3F from a revolver so I don't see any problem with a slightly larger charge from a rifle, but you may want to start with the lightest load you feel is appropriate and work your way up toward the maximum with an eye toward the accuracy of each load you try.

I'M NEW TO ALL THIS STUFF, I'M I PUTTING MYSELF IN DANGER BY SHOOTING 60-70 GR. OF 3F BLACK POWDER OUT OF MY .45 CAL FLINTER ? THANKS BOWDAWG

FYI...load data for 3F charges is simply a 15% reduction from published 2F load data.

For example, TC's published load data for a .45cal patched round ball shows 110grns 2F as the max load.
The corresponding max load data for 3F would be 93.5grns.

I use 3F patched ball loads in my .45cal flintlocks as follows:

40 & 50grns 3F for squirrels & targets

90grns 3F for deer hunting
(a 19% reduction from TC's 110grn 2F max load data)

Perfect accuracy, and deer fall within sight of the stand.

:redthumb: