• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

.45 PRB Load?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Razor62

40 Cal.
Reaction score
I built my hunting rifle last winter and I worked up a load which shoots a nice, tight group at 50 yards which is the range that I zero all of my deer guns at for New England brush hunting.
My hunting buddy has suggested that this choice of caliber is not adequate to cleanly and consistently harvest a deer. As I am new to PRBs I now find myself doubting the gun as well and so I thought I'd pose the question to the forum members as your combined experience is worth far more than my friend's or my speculation.
Here's what I'm shooting:

.45cal percussion 28" long barrel with a 1:44" rate of twist which seems to be closer to .44 cal upon closer inspection. It measures .449" at the grooves and a standard .45 cal ball will not load without becoming severely deformed. I have found that a .440 cal ball with a lubed .005" patch loads easily and sitting atop 70 grains of RS Pyrodex (Sorry to the purists but I've got about 4 lbs laying around the shop.) will consistently hit a 3" circle at 50 yards offhand. (Probably much better from a rest.)
The balls weigh in at 129 grains and I do not know the muzzle velocity of this load.
Of course I will try to keep my shots within the 50 yard window and will pass on marginal shot opportunities.

So what do you think? Is this an adequate load to harvest a whitetail?

Razor62 said: