• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

54 caliber conicals

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cbriggs57

32 Cal.
Reaction score
the 54 caliber Great Plains bullets that have been discontinued are still in shelves occasionally. I found two packages in a local gun shoo in southern Michigan today. They had some T/C maxi hunters, too, but I have a lot of those already. The great plains bullets shoot a little better

Since I've been shooting PRB exclusively since 2013, I had no idea they quit making those. I used them to kill a number of deer. GREAT shooting bullets, even out of my slow-twist 1-65 Pedersoli Rocky Mtn Hawken and a Frontier I had. Excellent performance on targets and big game. The kick of the rifle was defintely "enhanced" using them, but still not too bad with a 90 gr load of Triple 7. I still have a couple boxes of them. I looked online and a few places still have some of them, but most are marked as "sold out." IMO, the hollow base was the secret. I could never get the TC Maxi's to fly nearly as true. For guys that still want these, there must be a mold out there...no?

I used the hollow base hollow point on elk the work great! But man they do kick hard!!! Lol used them for years then I got a mold for r.e.a.l. bullets and gun liked them better.