• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

54 Lymen GPR Hawken rock lock kit

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

eaglesnester

40 Cal.
Reaction score
Anybody on the net built one of these rifles? This is my first build and was wondering if there are any tips that will make the build easier with fewer screwups?
Then there is the question of loads, patch. I figure about 90gr Goex 2F aught to just about do it? How accurate is the average 54 cal flinter Lyman GPR.

I have built about 12-13 gpr kits. Theres several things you can do to make the gun better or look better too. First is chuck the stock vent line and use an RMC liner. Next you will have to remove around 1/4-1/2 inch from the belly of the stock and take out the fish belly and make it flat, then draw file the barrel and remove stamping if desired, round off the forearm a bit, if you get really crazy lengthen out the wrist are of the stock and thin out the back area to not make it so wide. Other then that its an easy kit to put together. You can assemble the whole gun and finish it with out doing any of the above as well or save it for a later project down the road. The steel part specifically the butt plate and trigger guard will need to be filed or ground down smooth many cast marks, and the nose cap is usually round too. Hope this helps

Good choice on a kit, I have owned several of them & they are the Best Buy for the Buck, IMHO in a low priced manufactured flintlock.