• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

.54 smoothbore info

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

beartrap

32 Cal.
Reaction score
i have a .54 smoothbore and i am new to this, what would be a good load for grouse? and how would #4 buckshot group for ducks or geese and would that also be big enough for use as actual buckshot? also could someone please tell me how to properly load a smoothbore, like what kind of wads to use. it is frustrateing to have no-one to shoot with and learn from. how much powder do i load?

also could someone please tell me how to properly load a smoothbore, like what kind of wads to use.

LOADINGSEQUENCE1.jpg

First load a measured charge of powder...

The over powder card (nitro card) is a hard cardboard card, it is loaded un-lubed and directly on top of the powder...

Then the 1/2 inch fiber wad, these can be lubed, I lube the side of mine, load the fiber wad on top of the nitro card...
wad.jpg

Drop a measured amount of shot down on top of the fiber wad...

Top off with a thin over-shot card and the tube is loaded...

Tricks of the trade:

1. Make a small cut or depressionon the edge of the over-shot card, this allowes the air to escape when ramming it down...

2. Fiber wads can be split down to make over shot cards if need be...

3. A good starting point is a 1:1 ratio of powder/shot, I use the same measurer for both in my Bess...

Yea, the Feds banned it years ago. Have to use Steel, Bismuth, or one of the other Non toxic pellets.