• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

70 grains strong enough?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hi all I am new to this flinter stuff. I just got my fathers old flinter from the gunsmith all ckecked out fine. I was wondering would 70 grains of 3f goex powder push a 50 cal patched ball fast enough to put a deer down for good inside of 75 yards. My flinter puts this load for shot inside of an inch. I love this tpye shooting and I can not wait to go out hunting with "dads" gun. It makes it like he is still with me. sorry to get sentimental. :sorry:

Thanks Koz :front:

I have use the same load, cal. and had good results at similar ranges,

For a couple of .50 cal.s that I've shot that seemed to be about the optimum load. 3Fg is a little hotter than 2Fg so 70 grain loads are not strictly target loads by any means. Good luck with the new pasttime and don't apologize for being sentimental; I'm sure most of the rest of us are too or we woiuldn't be shooting flinters.

Shot my Dad's .50 Allentown flinter for the first time about 2 mo. ago. He and Russ Hamm built it in 1970. Wow! Talk about a sentimental trip....remember riding along in the Land-Rover with my little brother, watching my dad hog hunt on a 23,000 acre ranch with this rifle in about 1972.

Incidentally, I shot 55 to 60 grains 3f and was "in the black" at 50 yards. Might try 70 grains myself and see if it tightens up. If so, it would be pretty neat to carry his rifle in the woods on a deer hunt.

Enjoy your dad's rifle :front: