• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Any Buck shot hunters?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KSC

32 Cal.
Reaction score
Anyone hunting with buckshot as their primary load? I'm new to the whole black powder scene, and don't own a smoothbore bp yet, but am curious of them. I've used quite a bit of buckshot in the past with x-full turkey chokes for flushed deer and pigs.

What are your thoughts on buckshot? It's one of those love or hate things I guess, some guys seem to think buckshot is a sort of inhumane hack-hunt technique. To me it's the best way to take flushed deer who are moving or stopping momentarily. I say its better to spray 3-4 pellets through the lungs than one slug through the guts.

The problem with buckshot is that to many people just don't know how to use it. I can't tell you many times I've heard, "Well I have x amount of chances to hit a deer at 100 yards"... :barf: And you just need one jackass to get lucky and kill one with one pellet to never hear the end of it. I've skinned far to many deer out and had buckshot fall out.

For a close up 25, 35 yard shot depending on your choke and pattern, yeah I won't argue with ya but people just don't know how to use it.

KSC said:
I say its better to spray 3-4 pellets through the lungs than one slug through the guts.

I say,....."It's better to take responsible shots & insure that you hit where it counts! If you can't put the shot in the right spot, don't take the shot."