• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Baker blog updated

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

robinghewitt

62 Cal.
Reaction score
Another day blazing away with ol' smoky. Blog updated if anyone's still interested...

Baker blog link

It gets better, but there's still something very wrong that I'm not understanding.

best regards

Squire Robin

Robin I am no expert ... but have you ...

1) Tried a tighter or different patch type/ball combo?

2) Also have you had some other accomplished shooter take for a spin to see if he can replicate that same pattern?

3) What size/type powder are you using anyway?

4) After all that mebee its time to give serious consideration to lapping the barrel.

Just more questions I guess! :hmm:

I still think a smaller ball and thicker patch is needed, especially after seeing October's blown patches. I'd lube with some sort of grease also.
This barrel moving back and forth thing has to cease too, you'll never hit anything with your barrel jumping about.

Davy said:
have you had some other accomplished shooter take for a spin to see if he can replicate that same pattern?

What exactly are you trying to imply by that remark? :hmm:

:rotf: :blah: :rotf: :blah: :rotf:

I'm loading it according to Baker's instructions. Twenty balls to the pound, tightly patched, a hefty charge of powder and frequent wiping. Only thinkg I've been adding is a piece of felt wad because the rifling is so deep.

best regards

Robin

Mike Brooks said: