• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Brown Bess frizzen gouge

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mitch97

32 Cal
Reaction score
Recently I bought a brown Bess carbine (pedersoli) and noticed it has some gouging issues(?). I'm new to flintlocks and I'm unsure if this level of cutting is normal.
IMG_20220227_073729102.jpg

The frizzen throws an excellent shower of sparks, though. I'm just worried this gouging is abnormal and prematurely wearing the frizzen out.

I come to yee Great bastion of knowledge looking for insight.

Recently I bought a brown Bess carbine (pedersoli) and noticed it has some gouging issues(?). I'm new to flintlocks and I'm unsure if this level of cutting is normal. View attachment 124894

The frizzen throws an excellent shower of sparks, though. I'm just worried this gouging is abnormal and prematurely wearing the frizzen out.

Thats the edge of the flint hitting the face of the frizzen too "square."