• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Deer lost

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GANGGREEN

45 Cal.
Reaction score
I'm truly not trying to stir the pot but I've been a lurker on this board for a few years and have been somewhat active on the board. My background is that of a hunter for roughly 36 years. I've taken a handful of deer with rifles, a whole bunch of deer with archery gear (compound bows and more recently a couple with a recurve) and quite a few, maybe 15-18 with flintlock rifles.

I find it amazing that many on this board claim to have never lost a deer. Now, admittedly, you need to know the perspective of the person making the claim. Have they never lost a deer but killed all of two? Have they taken plenty of deer with .45s, .40s or even .36s but never shot anything over 80 pounds (I'm not making a crack and it's not the hunters fault what the deer are like in their backyard, just trying to set perspective).