• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Enfield 1853 repro identification

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all, had seen this musket in the store and wanted to get your opinions before buying it. It looks like some sort of defarbed repro but again I know very little about it. Is it Parker Hale or DGG or Pedersoli? Can anyone please advise me

20240814_165018.jpg
20240814_165022.jpg
20240814_165027.jpg
20240814_165034.jpg
20240814_165036.jpg
20240814_165039.jpg

First, I am no expert. Second, that looks like a nice gun! And now…

Have you removed the barrel to see if there are any clues to manufacturer or the gunsmith who might have defarbed it? I’ve had Todd Watts defarb several of my guns and he re-stamps the original serial number on the underside of the barrel.

I understand that Parker Hale only used only Baddeley-type barrel bands so unless someone swapped yours for the Palmer-type bands it isn’t a Parker Hale. I was also told that Parker Hale made some P1853s with 1:48 twist rifling for export to the U.S. It’s probably a long shot but you might check the rifling.

Hopefully someone with more knowledge will be along soon to correct me or provide more information. Good luck!